Presentation Awards

All Post-doctorate fellows (new in 2015), graduate and undergraduate students presenting at the meeting are considered for the awards. Two undergraduate, two graduate students, and two PDFs receive the Student Presentation Award (SPA). Winners are awarded $100 and the Behavioural Neuroscience Student Presentation Award plaque.

Winners selection by the Student Presentation Awards committee will be based on a variety of factors including (1) clarity of slides, (2) clarity of talk and (3) creativity and ability in engaging the audience.

2017 Award Recepients

Roberto Colangeli
- Post-doctorate Fellow - Hotchkiss Brain Institute, University of Calgary.

"The fatty acid amide hydrolase inhibitor URB597 shows anti-seizure effects and does not alter synaptic plasticity at the perforant path-dentate gyrus synapses.".


Ning Chen - Post-doctorate Fellow - Alberta Children"s Hospital Research Institute and the Hotchkiss Brain Institute, University of Calgary.

"Ketogenic diet improves vocal communication in a mouse model of autism".



Catherine Thomas - Graduate student - Department of Psychology, Hotchkiss Brain Institute, University of Calgary.

"Drug sensitization leads to rapid incentive sensitization.".


Brandon Hauer - Graduate student - Department of Neuroscience, University of Alberta.

"Assessing the relative circuit contributions for hippocampal rhythmical activity".



Ben Brinkman - Undergraduate student - Canadian Center for Brain and Behaviour, University of Lethbridge.

"Quantifying hippocampal neuronal morphology in a seasonally reproducing rodent, Richardson’s ground squirrel.".


Vanessa Moman - Undergraduate student - Department of Psychology, Concordia University.

"A new go/no-go procedure to assess object-recognition in rats".